You come home after a long day of work and open your mailbox. Inside appears to be a letter from your local county courthouse. In large bold font on the front it reads, “JURY DUTY…”
CONGRATULATIONS! You’ve been selected to serve on a jury, but what does this even mean? Does it pay? (Spoiler: Yes, but not much). Do you have to show up? (Spoiler: Also, yes). Do not worry, we have the answers to your burning questions below:
Top 5 Jury Duty-Related Questions
Why did I get called?
Because they like you… duh. But more seriously, the court collects a list of eligible jurors from information they obtain through voter rolls, motor vehicle licenses, and property records. From this list, the court randomly selects a batch of potential jurors for upcoming cases. The selection is entirely random and only a few basic requirements need to be met. Those requirements are as follows:
- Must be at least 18 years of age;
- Must hold U.S. citizenship;
- Must hold North Dakota and county residency;
- Have an ability to read, speak and understand English to a reasonable degree;
- With reasonable accommodation, physically and mentally able to serve; and
- Be free from any loss of civil rights due to felony charges.
Am I Required to Serve?
Signs point to Yes! North Dakota state law requires that all qualified North Dakotans serve as jurors if called. Exceptions are available due to a lack of any of the qualification requirements listed above. The court will also allow individuals who can show undue hardship, extreme inconvenience, and public necessity the ability to opt out of service. For example, if you are in college in a different state, you may be able to claim undue hardship as traveling back for jury duty would be inconvenient to an extreme degree.
Do I get Paid? How’s the Money?
Pay Day! You are not required to serve for free. All jurors are compensated for their time. Jurors in North Dakota receive $25 for the first half day and $50 for serving the whole day. For every additional day a Juror serves they earn another $50. Jurors can also be compensated for the mileage they put on their car. The current mileage rate is .625 cents per mile. This mileage rate changes often and may increase by the time you are called.
I Have a Job? What if They Don’t Let Me Leave?
No worries, they have to! The government needs jurors to complete their civic duties and therefore has enacted State laws that protect you from being fired, demoted, threatened, or hassled. Legally, your job must allow you to serve without fear of retaliation.
Can I share the juicy details of the trial with my friends during the trial?
Unfortunately, no… You must not discuss the case with anyone during the trial. This includes discussing it with court personnel or any of the parties involved in the case. This is to ensure that the proceedings do not become tainted. It may be hard to keep the details to yourself but doing so is necessary in the name of justice!
If you need an experienced attorney to help you with a criminal charge, family law issue, personal injury suit, or probate, please contact Rosenquist Law Office at (701) 775-0654 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The information contained in this article and on this website is for informational purposes only. This information is not legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.